The Ballad of Bob Dylan: A Portrait
  Posted by The Walrus on Tuesday, August 18, 2015

    AudioBookBalladofBobDylan

    We’ve got another audiobook treat for you!  Tune in tonight at 8pm Atlantic (7pm Eastern, 6pm Central, 4pm Pacific, 12am London, 11am Sydney) for the first in a 13-part series of Daniel Mark Epstein’s book “The Ballad of Bob Dylan: A Portrait.”

    Drawing on revelatory interviews, a rich analysis of lyrics, and a lifelong study of one of the greatest songwriters of our time, Daniel Mark Epstein delivers a singular, nuanced, and insightful examination of Bob Dylan: the poet, the musician, and the man. Interweaving in-depth conversations with Dylan collaborators and contemporaries – including Eric Andersen,Tom Paxton, Woody Guthrie’s daughter, Nora Guthrie, Ramblin’ Jack Elliott, Pete Seeger, Maria Muldaur, John P.Hammond, and many others – Epstein crafts a vivid and unforgettable portrait of the inimitable poet and performer.  Readers of Christopher Ricks’ Dylan’s Visions of Sin, the Dylan autobiography, Chronicles, or Sean Wilentz’s Dylan in America, as well as fans enthralled by expository musician stories, such as Keith Richards’ Life and Patti Smith’s Just Kids, will be captivated by Epstein’s unprecedented and incisive look at Bob Dylan, music’s most ineffable creator.

    I hope you’ll like what you hear, and if you enjoy the book, be sure to pick up your own copy at Amazon.  Thanks for tuning in!

[Comment on this article]







    icon
  








Station time is currently 10:55:02am Atlantic Daylight Time
9:55am Eastern / 6:55am Pacific / 2:55pm London / 1:55am Sydney
Subscribe to Calendar (iCal)
Theme Time Radio Hour: Daily at Noon & 3am ADT
11am & 2am Eastern / 8am & 11pm Pacific / 4pm & 7am London / 3am & 6pm Sydney
Live Concerts: Daily at 10pm ADT
9pm Eastern / 6pm Pacific / 2am London / 1pm Sydney
Fred Bals' Dreamtime podcast: Daily at 6am ADT
5am Eastern / 2am Pacific / 10am London / 9pm Sydney
Rod's Weekly Dose of Dylan: Archived episodes Fridays at 11am ADT
10am Eastern / 7am Pacific / 3pm London / 2am Sydney
Bob Ducca's Affirmation Nation: Daily at 10am ADT
9am Eastern / 6am Pacific / 2pm London / 1am Sydney
   Log In:
Username:  
Password:    
Forgot your password?
No account? Register now (it's free!)



Keep all conversation clean & respectful.
Loading... listeners / who's online?


  Official Bob Dylan Page
Our Sites
  Our Facebook Page
  Our Facebook User Group
  Our YouTube Channel
News/Reviews
  Expecting Rain
  /r/BobDylan
  The Neverending Pool
  All Along The Watchtower
  Bob Links
  Bob Dylan Fan Club
  DreamTime Podcast
  Maggie's Farm (Italian)
Blogs
  Webcast Blog
  DreamTime Podcast
  Blog in Plain D
  Dylan Devotional
  The Wicked Messenger
  Gardening with Bob Dylan
  Drive it to the Moon
  DylanTube
  Theme Time Radio Archive
Info
  Daniel Martin's Dylan Pages
  Bob's Boots
  DylanChords.info
  How to Listen to Dylan
Siblings:
  Bob Dylan Tracks
  Dylan Folk Radio
  TambourineMan Radio
Friends:
  WalrusVideo.com
  My Beloved Mets
  DrawnbyDan.com
  Keir Perry Home Inspections
  The Bluenoser Show
  Anime for the Road
  Authcom.com
  Kentville Internet ISP




DylanRadio.com is best
viewed with Mozilla Firefox
 

Home  |   About/FAQ  |   Share  |   Forums  |   Blog  |   Browse Songs

DylanRadio.com is best viewed with Mozilla Firefox at 1024x768 or better
All music/lyrics © their respective owners. Website ©2015 DylanRadio.com
Broadcast hosting graciously provided by Authcom, Nova Scotia's local Internet Service Provider
Read our Privacy Policy